Morehead to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

Morehead to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

The University of Findlay athletic department is pleased to announce that former western equestrian coach, Cindy Morehead, will enter the Hall of Fame as the 2019 recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is a part of the Oilers Athletic Hall of Fame and was established in 2013 to honor outstanding Oilers who have attained an extremely high level of success in their industry, sport or profession.  This success may or may not have a connection to a Varsity "F" letter earned at the University of Findlay. This award serves as humble appreciation for the recipient who has brought positive recognition and distinction to the University of Findlay athletics and the University of Findlay as an institution.

Morehead came to Findlay in 1977 and had the opportunity to join the Oilers equestrian program at its onset and cultivate it to the point where it has become nationally renowned. She spent 40 years with the program and served as the head coach of the Oilers Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA) team from 2005-17.

Overall, Morehead coached the Oilers western equestrian team to four national titles (2005, 2007, 2009, 2010). She also led the Oilers to four reserve (runner-up) national championships, coached four American Quarter Horse Association (AQHA) national high point riders, won 13 regional team championships, 12 semifinal titles and coached 13 regional high point riders. She also oversaw 29 of her riders capture national titles during her tenure with the team.

Morehead also served as an instructor within the Oilers equestrian program for 40 years and has and continues to be an outstanding ambassador to the university and equestrian programs.

The 2019 Hall of Fame class will include former track and field star Kirby (Blackley) Overton ('06, M '08), standout volleyball player Bridgett (Hamilton) Bunn ('01), national champion wrestler Antonio Guerra ('08) and award-winning men's basketball player Bill Kotterman ('81).

Doors for the event will open at 10:15 a.m. and the induction/luncheon will begin at 11:00 a.m. The registration fee is $25 for adults, $15 for minors (7-17) and free for children ages 6 and younger. To secure your ticket to the event, please register online by clicking HERE or call (419) 434-4516.

The inductees will also be recognized during the Oilers men's basketball game against Tiffin University on Feb. 2 as well. The contest is scheduled to begin at 3:00 p.m. in Croy Gymnasium.