Williams Named GLIAC Freshman of the Year

Freshman running back Monterae Williams of The University of Findlay football team was named the 2009 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Freshman of the Year by the head coaches in the league on Wednesday, November 11.

Williams led the Oilers rushing attack by accumulating 937 yards on 222 carries to go along with six touchdowns. He had three games of 130 yards or more, recording a season-high 196 against Ferris State on September 12 and averaged 85.2 yards per contest during his inaugural campaign.

He was also named second team all-conference for his performance during his freshman season.

In addition, senior wide receiver Mike Chambers, senior defensive back Anthony Fields, senior linebacker Joe Knopick, senior defensive lineman E.J. Whitlow and freshman punter Brian Schmeidebusch were named First Team All-GLIAC for their performances during the 2009 season.

Chambers led the GLIAC in receiving yards with 1,027, 161 yards more than the next closest player. His receiving yards broke the school record of 1,018 set by Derek Hutchinson during the 1986 campaign.

A second team all-conference selection last season, Chambers finished second in the GLIAC in receptions per game at 5.6, tied for second with eight touchdowns and went over the 100-yard receiving plateau in five games on the year.

Fields finished his senior season with 73 total tackles and three interceptions. A first team all-conference selection last year as well, Fields finished third in the GLIAC with 14 passes defended and led his squad to the 25th best pass defense in the country by allowing only 166.7 yards per contest through the air.

Knopick led the team and finished fourth in the GLIAC and 15th in the nation in tackles with 118. He also pounced on five fumbles, the fourth highest mark nationally as well as the best total in the league.

Whitlow finished the 2009 campaign with 60 tackles. He also racked up 6.0 tackles for a loss, 4.5 sacks and two fumble recoveries.

Schmeidebusch meanwhile had a great start to his career at Findlay by leading the conference and ranking fifth in the nation with a 42.1 yards per punt average. He also placed 11 punts inside the 20-yard line and registered seven punts of 50 or more yards.

Joining Williams on the second team were sophomore defensive lineman Brandon Cornell and junior offensive lineman Nathan Schaffer.

Cornell registered 34 tackles, 9.5 tackles for a loss, 5.0 sacks, 11 passes defended and ten quarterback hurries for the Oilers while Schaffer was a leader up front, making 11 starts at guard and tackle during the 2009 campaign as the team averaged 25.2 points per game.

Senior quarterback Andrew Beam, junior wide receiver Dustin Zielaskiewicz, junior offensive lineman Chris Condeni, junior kicker Cameron Stevens, sophomore defensive back Ikechi Emeaghara and red-shirt freshman defensive lineman Richard Sumlin all earned honorable mention all-conference honors to round out the Oilers postseason awards.

Beam threw for a school record 2,179 yards in his only season with the Oilers, firing 14 touchdown passes and scoring two more on the ground.

Zielaskiewicz finished his junior season with 42 receptions for 518 yards and five scores. He also completed 2-of-2 passes for 105 yards and a touchdown.

Condeni started ten games on the left side of the Oilers line while Emeaghara recorded 40 tackles to go along with three picks.

Stevens broke his own school record of 12 field goals in a season set last year with 14 during the 2009 campaign. He also hit on 27-of-28 extra point attempts and has been named honorable mention all-conference three times now during his career.

Sumlin meanwhile started all 11 games on the Oilers defensive line, making 33 tackles.

First Team All-GLIAC Offense

QB – Brad Iciek, Sr, Grand Valley State
RB – Joique Bell, Sr, Wayne State
RB – James Berezik, Jr, Grand Valley State
RB – Vinnie Panizzi, Sr, Hillsdale
HB – Galen Stone, Sr, Saginaw Valley State
WR – Mike Chambers, Sr, Findlay
WR – A.J. Kegg, Sr, Hillsdale
WR – Andre Holmes, Jr, Hillsdale
WR – Blake Smolen, Sr, Grand Valley State
OL – Bill Behling, Sr, Michigan Tech
OL – Jordan Derosia, Sr, Saginaw Valley State
OL – Cameron Bradfield, Jr, Grand Valley State
OL – Tim Dury, Sr, Indianapolis
OL – Nick McDonald, Sr, Grand Valley State
OL – Jared Veldheer, Sr, Hillsdale
PK – Mark Petro, Sr, Hillsdale
KR – Blake Smolen, Sr, Grand Valley State

First Team All-GLIAC Defense

DL – Drew Berube, Sr, Hillsdale
DL – Randall Courtney, Sr, Indianapolis
DL – Alex Gilde, Sr, Grand Valley State
DL – Danny Richard, Jr, Grand Valley State
DL – E.J. Whitlow, Sr, Findlay
LB – John Jacobs, Sr, Saginaw Valley State
LB – Joe Knopick, Sr, Findlay
LB – Mike LeVand, Sr, Saginaw Valley State
LB – Justin Victor, Jr, Grand Valley State
LB – Nathan Yelk, Sr, Northern Michigan
DB – Carlton Downs, So, Saginaw Valley State
DB – Anthony Fields, Sr, Findlay
DB – Brian Gamble, So, Ashland
DB – Jake McGuckin, Sr, Grand Valley State
DB – Craig Ray, Jr, Indianapolis
P – Brian Schmeidebusch, Fr, Findlay

Second Team All-GLIAC Offense

QB – Billy Cundiff, Sr, Ashland
QB – Troy Weatherhead, Jr, Hillsdale
RB – Mark Bossuah, Sr, Northern Michigan
RB – P.T. Gates, Sr, Grand Valley State
RB – Monterae Williams, Fr, Findlay
HB – Matt Patillo, Sr, Hillsdale
WR – Nick Bellanco, Sr, Ashland
WR – Joe Horn, Jr, Ashland
WR – Zach Nichols, Sr, Northern Michigan
WR – Bob Slowik, Sr, Michigan Tech
OL – Marc Cuddeback, Jr, Wayne State
OL – Phil Doerfler, Jr, Hillsdale
OL – Will Floyd, Jr, Northwood
OL – Ryan Jonik, Sr, Wayne State
OL – Jack Rustman, Sr, Northern Michigan
OL – Nathan Schaffer, Jr, Findlay
PK – Justin Trumble, Sr, Grand Valley State
KR – Carlin Isles, So, Ashland

Second Team All-GLIAC Defense

DL – Jordan Barley, Sr, Saginaw Valley State
DL – Brandon Cornell, So, Findlay
DL – Brian Klobucar, Sr, Saginaw Valley State
DL – Nick Lawrence, Jr, Grand Valley State
DL – Andrew Smith, So, Northwood
LB – Andrew DeWeerd, Jr, Northwood
LB – Mike Dum, So, Indianapolis
LB – Zach Gauthier, Sr, Northern Michigan
LB – Matt Ryan, Sr, Ferris State
LB – Nick Thomas, So Wayne State
DB – Matt Bakker, Jr, Grand Valley State
DB – Zach Breen, So, Grand Valley State
DB – Jamar Hibler, Sr, Northwood
DB – Nick Hixson, So, Hillsdale
DB – J.T. Owens, Sr, Indianapolis
P – Eric Schweller, Sr, Hillsdale

GLIAC Player of the Year
Joique Bell, Sr, RB, Wayne State

GLIAC Offensive Back of the Year
Brad Iciek, Sr, QB, Grand Valley State

GLIAC Defensive Back of the Year
John Jacobs, Sr, LB, Saginaw Valley State

GLIAC Offensive Lineman of the Year
Nick McDonald, Sr, OL, Grand Valley State

GLIAC Defensive Lineman of the Year
Danny Richard, Jr, DL, Grand Valley State

GLIAC Freshman of the Year
Monterae Williams, Fr, RB, Findlay

GLIAC Coach of the Year
Keith Otterbein, Hillsdale