Oilers Head to Dayton on Friday

Oilers Head to Dayton on Friday

The Oilers will open their season with an exhibition game against the University of Dayton on Nov. 4. The game is scheduled to begin at 7 p.m. in Dayton, Ohio at UD Arena.

Live Stats

If you can't make it to the game in Dayton, follow the live statistics here:

Live Stats


Oilers basketball games can be heard on 88.3 FM "WLFC" or on the internet via their web site. You can listen to the broadcast by clicking on the following link:


Follow the Oilers on Social Media

Follow the Oilers on social media to keep up with all the exciting news surrounding UF athletics.


Series Information

The Oilers and Flyers last met in an exhibition contest on Nov. 2, 2013. The Flyers scored a 96-87 win over the Oilers in that game.

Greg Kahlig poured in a game-high 30 points on 9-of-14 shooting to lead the Oilers.  He also connected on 12-of-13 attempts from the free throw line and 4-of-7 shots from the behind the three point line to go along with six boards.

Dylan Kaufman added 25 points, hitting 7-of-14 shot attempts. 

The Oilers shot 47.7 percent (21-of-44) from the field and hit 36-of-44 (81.8%) of their tries from the free throw line. The Flyers meanwhile hit 59.1 percent (26-of-44) of their field goal attempts and made 40-of-52 (76.9%) shot attempts from the charity stripe.


The Oilers were picked as the favorite to win the GLIAC South Division during the 2016-17 season as the league office unveiled their annual preseason poll on Oct. 26. They finished last season with a 20-8 record.

The Oilers received 34 points in the poll and led the South Division with five first place votes. Ashland was picked to finish second in the South followed by Hillsdale.

Junior guard Martyce Kimbrough and junior forward Taren Sullivan were each tabbed as preseason all-conference performers for the Oilers this season.

Kimbrough was a first team all-GLIAC selection last season after scoring 16.0 points per game to lead the Oilers. He was 11th in the league in scoring and ranked second with 80 three pointers made.

Sullivan meanwhile was a second team all-GLIAC winner last season after scoring 12.6 points per contest for Findlay. He also averaged 4.3 rebounds per game and shot 47.3 percent from the field.



The Flyers finished last season with a 25-8 record. They qualified for the NCAA Division I National Tournament, but were eliminated by Syracuse in the opening round.

The Flyers will be led by senior guard Charles Cooke, who averaged 15.6 points and 5.8 rebounds per game last year.

Senior guard Scoochie Smith also returns after posting averages of 11.7 points and 4.3 assists per game while seniors Kendall Pollard and Kyle Davis are back after producing 10.3 points and 8.0 points per game, respectively.

Dayton averaged 72.5 points per game during the 2015-16 campaign and out-rebounded their opponents by 4.5 boards per contest.


20-Win Seasons

The Oilers have won 20 games in a season 14 times in the past 15 years. The streak started during the 2001-02 campaign when Findlay finished with a 23-7 season. The only year that they did not reach the 20-win plateau came during the 2014-15 campaign when they finished with a 16-11 record.

An Elite Program

The Oilers have one of the best winning percentages in NCAA Division II competition since the year 2000, having won 391 games and lost only 98 for an overall winning percentage of .800.  During that timeframe, the Oilers reached the Elite 8 in 2005, appeared in the Sweet 16 in 2008 and won the NCAA Division II National Championship in 2009 with a perfect 36-0 record.

Conference Championships

The Oilers have won 13 GLIAC South Division titles in their 18-year affiliation with the conference and have also won eight conference tournaments, capturing titles in 2004, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013 and 2014. 

In the last 15 years, the Oilers have won 12 GLIAC South Division titles.  Overall, Findlay has won GLIAC South Division titles in 1998, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014 and 2015.

A History of League Excellence

The Oilers have had a total of 25 first team all-conference performers since joining the GLIAC during the 1997-98 campaign. Additionally, 14 more players have earned second team all-conference accolades.

Findlay has also been fortunate enough to have three players who were named the GLIAC Player of the Year. Greg Kahlig (2014), Josh Bostic (2009) and Dustin Pfeifer (2006) all earned the award during their senior seasons with the Oilers.  Pfeifer was also tabbed the GLIAC Freshman of the Year in 2003 while Marcus Parker earned the honor for Findlay in 2007. 

Former head coach Ron Niekamp was recognized as the GLIAC Coach of the Year five times during his career. He earned the award in 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2009.  His five coach of the year awards are tied for the most in league history.

The Oilers, who have buiit a stong program based on defense, have also had 20 players earn a spot on the GLIAC all-defensive team.


The Oilers have had six NCAA Division II All-Americans in the past ten years. Dustin Pfeifer was the Oilers first player to earn All-American honors for his performance during the 2005-06 campaign. Additionally, Frank Phillips (2006-07), Josh Bostic (2007-08 and 2008-09), Nathan Hyde (2010-11) and Greg Kahlig (2013-14) have earned All-American honors for Findlay.

Bostic, the Oilers only two-time NCAA Division II All-American, was also named the 2009 NCAA Division II National Player of the Year. He led the Oilers to a 36-0 record and a national championship during his final season with the team.

All-Region Performers

The Oilers have had 11 players earn first team all-region honors since 2005. Dustin Pfeifer (2005, 2006), Frank Phillips (2007), Josh Bostic (2008, 2009), Nathan Hyde (2010, 2011), Marcus Parker (2010), Kyle Caiola (2012) and Greg Kahlig (2013, 2014) have all earned all-region honors for the Oilers in that timeframe.


The Oilers have appeared in 12 NCAA Division II National Tournaments since joining the DII ranks as a full member in 2000-01 and have recorded a 16-11 record in those games. 

The team reached the Elite 8 for the first time in school history during the 2004-05 campaign and advanced to the Sweet 16 during the 2007-08 season. They then used those experiences to win a NCAA Division II National Championship during the 2008-09 campaign, finishing the year with a perfect 36-0 record. They claimed the title with a 56-53 overtime win against Cal Poly Pomona on March 28, 2009 in Springfield, Mass. 

Their 36 wins as an undefeated national champion are the most in the history of NCAA Division II men's basketball. 

Helpful Links

NCAA Division II Stats
National Association of Basketball Coaches
NCAA Division II Basketball