White Named Top Player | Ernst Voted Top Coach

White Named Top Player | Ernst Voted Top Coach

Senior forward Alex White was named the 2019 Great Midwest Athletic Conference (G-MAC) Player of the Year while Charlie Ernst captured Coach of the Year accolades for the second straight season.

White, who was also named first team all-conference and earned a spot on the all-defensive team as well, has led the sixth-ranked Oilers to a 26-3 record this season. He is ranked third in the league in scoring at 18.4 points per game, ranks fourth in rebounding at 8.8 per contest, and second in blocked shots with 1.8 per outing. His 55.1 percent shooting clip is the third-best mark in the league as well.

The West Chester, Ohio native has scored 535 points this season, the 21st-highest total in school history. He also ranks 40th all-time at Findlay with 1,053 career points and his 634 career rebounds is the fifth-best total in program history.

Ernst earned his second straight Coach of the Year accolade after leading the Oilers to their second G-MAC regular season title. His team finished the regular season with an 18-2 record in league play.

Senior guard Trey Smith was named first team all-conference and was also voted to the all-defensive team as well. Smith has averaged 11.3 points, 2.9 assists, 2.6 rebounds, and 1.1 steals per game this season. He has also made a team-high 64 triples and has shot 44.1 percent (64-of-145) from behind the three point line.

In addition, junior forward Aaron Overhiser earned a spot on the second team for his efforts during the 2018-19 campaign. Overhiser has averaged 14.0 points and 6.3 rebounds per game this year.

Great Midwest Awards

Player of the Year: Alex White, Findlay
Coach of the Year: Charlie Ernst, Findlay
Freshman of the Year: JT Shumate

First Team All-Conference

Hasan Varence, Ohio Dominican
Alex White, Findlay
JT Shumate, Walsh
Gabe Kynard, Lake Erie
Nate Sheppard, Malone
Conner Tenhove, Cedarville
Trey Smith, Findlay
Sam Hickey, Ohio Dominican
Mike Davis, Alderson Broaddus
Davis Larson, Hillsdale

Second Team All-Conference

Sterling Christy, Walsh
Aaron Overhiser, Findlay
Darryl Straughter, Walsh
Branden Maughmer, Cedarville
Adam Goetz, Kentucky Wesleyan
Dylan Lowry, Hillsdale
Grant Zawadzki, Cedarville
Austin Adams, Tiffin
Malik Bocook, Alderson Broaddus
Bryce Butler, Malone

All-Defensive Team

Erron James, Lake Erie
David Adeyemo, Ohio Valley
Trey Smith, Findlay
Sterling Christy, Walsh
Alex White, Findlay