23 Oilers Earn All-Conference Accolades

23 Oilers Earn All-Conference Accolades

All-Conference Release

The University of Findlay men and women's swimming and diving team were well represented in the annual league awards as the Great Midwest Athletic Conference (G-MAC) released their 2020 honors on March 25.

On the men's side, Tim Stollings was named Athlete of the Year as well as Freshman of the Year, while Andrew Makepeace took home Coach of the Year accolades for the third consecutive season after leading the Oilers to their third straight league championship.

Stollings, who was voted the G-MAC Swimmer and Freshman of the Meet at the conference championship, had a hand in winning seven league titles for the Oilers. He claimed individual championships in the 50-yard freestyle, 100-yard freestyle, 100-yard butterfly, and 100-yard backstroke. He was also a part of the 200-yard freestyle, 400-yard freestyle, and 400-yard medley relay teams that won gold as well.

Makepeace as mentioned before, led the Oilers to their third straight victory at the conference championship. Under his guidance, the Oilers racked up a total of 1,559 points at the conference championship and secured ten league titles.

In addition, the Oilers had nine individuals earn first team all-conference while two others captured honorable mention all-league accolades.

Joining Stollings on the first team were freshman Jaeger Loran, senior Adam Stretch, freshman Alex Wisler, senior Trent Williams, freshman Colin Martin, senior Isaac Stretch, sophomore Paul Pavala, and junior Nathan Bourne. Junior Dalton Shevlin and sophomore Jared Toaz captured honorable mention honors.

On the women's side, senior Hanna Cederholm was named Athlete of the Year for the second time in her career at Findlay. She also captured the honor in 2018.

Cederholm won a total of six league titles and has won 15 during her illustrious career at Findlay. She earned G-MAC Swimmer of the Meet honors at the 2020 league championship and claimed individual titles in the 200-yard IM, 100-yard butterfly, 100-yard breaststroke, and 200-yard breaststroke. She also was a part of the 200-yard freestyle and 400-yard medley relay teams that captured first place at the conference meet.

In addition, junior Payton Zess, sophomore Kristina Coleman, junior Ashton Klopp, freshman Rachel Poling, sophomore Chris McFarland, senior Katy Kouvaris, and freshman Leah Vander Roest joined Cederholm as first team all-conference honorees. Senior Sydney Zimdars, junior Sarah Miles, freshman Murphy Vance, and junior Brette Klopp were all named honorable mention all-conference as well.