Women's Golf to Compete at National Championship

Women's Golf to Compete at National Championship

The University of Findlay women's golf team will be one of 12 teams competing at the 2014 NCAA Division II National Championship on May 14-17 at the Rock Barn Golf and Spa in Canover, N.C.

A total of 72 student-athletes will make up the field for the four-day tournament and live scoring will be made available through Golfstat.  For a link to the live results, please click below:

Live Scoring

Lynn University returns to the championship event as the defending national champion and will represent the South Region, which has produced the past 14 winners.

The Oilers will be joined by the University of Indianapolis and Grand Valley State University as representatives from the East Region. Grand Valley State has had some success at the event in the past, earning runner-up honors in 2005 and 2009.

Senior Brooke Albers is the only player on the Oilers team to experience the national championship as she qualified for the event as an individual during the 2011-12 campaign.  Albers was the Oilers first women's golfer to qualify for the NCAA Division II National Championship and placed 44th at the tournament.

The Oilers reached the championship by taking third place in the East Regional, which concluded on May 6 at the Purgatory Golf Club in Noblesville, Ind.  Findlay shot a school record 54-hole score of 949 (319m 314, 316) at the event and were led by Albers, who finished third with a 228 (77, 73, 78).

Junior Michele Schambs ended up in a tie for 13th after carding a 238 (83, 79, 76 – 238) while sophomore Kasey Petty finished 15th with a 239 (78, 81, 80).

Freshman Shelby Warner finished in a tie for 24th after carding a 244 (81, 81, 82) and sophomore Hannah Schneider placed 47th with a 266 (87, 86, 93) to round out the rest of the scores for Findlay at the tournament.

The complete field of teams and individuals is listed below:

West Region Teams
1. Tarleton State
2. St. Edward's
3. Dallas Baptist

West Region Individuals
1. Linda Brown, California State East Bay
2. Glory Jangthongsiri, West Texas A&M
3. Tina Yang, California Baptist

Central Region Teams
1. Central Oklahoma
2. Southwestern Oklahoma State
3. Arkansas Tech

Central Region Individuals
1. Baylee Price, Northeastern State
2. Marisa Toivonen, Augustana (South Dakota)
3. Allie Ostrander, Augustana (South Dakota)

East Region Teams
1t. Indianapolis
1t. Grand Valley State
3. Findlay

East Region Individuals
1. Tayler Hoag, Missouri-St. Louis
2. Carla Maestre, California (Pennsylvania)
3. Kasey Frazier, Wheeling Jesuit

South Region Teams
1. Lynn
2. Barry
3. Rollins

South Region Individuals
1. Marie Coors, Saint Leo
2. Daisy-May Kenny, West Florida
3. Johanna Larsson, Florida Tech