#14 Roughnecks Host #11 Lakers on Friday

#14 Roughnecks Host #11 Lakers on Friday

The University of Findlay wrestling team team, ranked 14th in the nation, will host #11 Mercyhurst College on Friday, February 10 in Croy Gymnasium.

Last Time Out

The Roughnecks claimed the first ever Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Championship on Sunday, Feb. 5 in Ashland, Ohio.

The Roughnecks defeated Lake Erie 20-15, won 38-7 over Tiffin and then defeated #12 Ashland by a score of 21-9 to finish the event with a 3-0 record.

Michael Lybarger was named the GLIAC Wrestler of the Year while Shawn Nelson took home GLIAC Coach of the Year honors.

Individually, Ben Sergent, Chris Andrews, Mason True, Lybarger, Adam Walters and Ashton Brown were each named first team all-GLIAC while Nick Wiesjahn, Jeremy Espinoza and Andrew Tumlin were tabbed sec­ond team all-conference.

Sergent, Lybarger, Walters and Brown each finished the event with perfect records.

Sergent, the sixth-ranked wrestler in the 125-pound weight class, started the meet with an 11-1 win over Lake Erie's Austin Gillihan. After a forfeit win, Sergent claimed a 4-3 win over Ashland's Brandon Davis.

Lybarger, the second-ranked wrestler in the 174-pound weight class, won 5-0 over the Storm's Zev Green, pinned Tiffin's Jacob Cramer in 4:42 and concluded the event with a 3-1 win over the Eagles' Bryson Hall.

Walters, the sixth-ranked wrestler in the 184-pound weight class, won 6-2 over Lake Erie's Josh Linden, 7-4 over Tiffin's Kevin Christman and 7-5 over Kurt Schaefer of Ashland.

Brown won 9-4 against Lake Erie's Mike Samijlenko, won by forfeit against Tiffin and was victorious by a score of 7-4 against Ashland's Joe Brandt.

The Lakers

The Lakers are coming off of a 31-9 win over Shippensburg and sport a 13-5 dual meet record on the season.

Probable Lineups

125 - #6 Ben Sergent (UF) vs. T.J. Stanton (MC)
133 - Nick Wiesjahn (UF) or Shane Troyer (UF) vs. Kody Young (MC)
141 - Chris Andrews (UF) vs. Jeremy Landowski (MC)
149 - Jeremy Espinoza (UF) vs. Michael Griffith (MC)
157 - Alex Betts (UF) vs. Tony D'Urso (MC)
165 - Mason True (UF) vs. Adam Lamancusa (MC)
174 - #2 Michael Lybarger (UF) vs. August Mizia (MC)
184 - #6 Adam Walters (UF) vs. Eric Fulmer (MC) or Patrick Leahy (MC)
197 - Ashton Brown (UF) vs. Michael Pollard (MC)
285 - Andrew Tumlin (UF) vs. #4 Fred Hale (MC)