Brackets Released for NCAA DII Championship

Brackets Released for NCAA DII Championship

The 2016 NCAA Division II Wrestling National Championship brackets have been released. The UF wrestling team will have three individuals competing at the event, which is scheduled to take place on March 11-12 in Sioux Falls, S.D.

Junior Nick Goebel, the top-ranked wrestler in the nation at 149, will begin the tournament against Bradley Little from Fort Hays State. Goebel, who earned an All-American award at the championship event last season, has a 36-4 record on the season. His 36 wins this season are the fourth-most in school history. Little meanwhile has posted a 24-9 mark. He was a national qualifier last season.

Junior Joey White will be wrestling in the 157-pound weight class for the Roughnecks and is slated to go toe-to-toe with Maryville's Greg Hegarty in the opening round. White has posted a 30-12 record this season while Hegarty has a 12-6 mark. White is making his first appearance at the championship event while Hegarty is a returning All-American.

Red-shirt freshman Alonzo Turner will be making his first appearance at the championship and is scheduled to wrestle Pitt-Johnstown's Tyler Reinhart in the first round of the 165-pound bracket. Turner has posted a 24-19 record this season while Reinhart, a national qualifier last year, has recorded a 24-6 mark.

NCAA DII National Championship Brackets