Oilers Compete in Otterbein Invitational

Oilers Compete in Otterbein Invitational

The University of Findlay men and women cross country teams traveled to Westerville, Ohio on Saturday, September 17 to compete in the Otterbein Invitational.  The men's and women's event both featured over 200 athletes competing.

Men's Results

Sophomore Jonathan Allen paved the way for the Oilers with a 3rd place finish at the 26:38.4 mark.  Junior Matias Trampe-Kindt just missed out on a top ten finish coming in 11th with a time of 27:23.4.

Sophomore Tyler Beck claimed 22nd with his time of 27:53.9.  Rounding out the scoring for the Findlay men were a pair of sophomores.  Austin Guthrie earned 40th at the 28:36.7 mark and Michael Taylor collected 52nd with a time of 28:55.5.

Also competing in the race for the Oilers were sophomore Troy Schultz (142nd, 31:22.8) and freshman Nick Korducki (180th, 33:43.2).

The Findlay men finished in 4th place out of 17 teams with a total of 115 points.

Women's Results

Setting the pace for the Oiler women were senior Melanie Ruich and junior Taylor Bolinger.  They both finished in the top ten with Ruich coming in at the 23:32.8 mark to claim 5th and Bolinger finishing in 8th with a time of 23:46.3.

Finishing not far behind was senior Nicole Burlinson, with a time of 24:21.8 to earn 14th.  Rounding out the scoring for Findlay was freshman Madilyn Greiner, who collected 43rd at the 25:27.9 mark and sophomore Torrie Purdy, who finished 53rd in a time of 25:47.9.

Also competing for the Oilers were freshman Jenna Shipman (54th, 25:47.9), senior Maud Sanmiquel (79th, 26:34.0), freshman Aubreah Manns (112th, 27:29.3), freshman Sidney Towalski (120th, 27:47.6), sophomore Megan Martz (127th, 27:58.7), freshman Maggie Kise (155th, 29:06.3), senior Kailey Coleman (156th, 29:08.5), and sophomore Heidi Paxson (163rd, 29:23.7).

The Findlay women finished in 3rd place out of 19 teams with a total of 119 points.

Next Up

After a weekend off, the cross country teams travel to Cedarville, Ohio to compete in the All-Ohio Championship meet on Friday, September 30.  The meet is schedule to begin at 2:00 p.m.